Accessing Studios

Studios is currently in beta-version and needs to be enabled in the CloudVision settings before it can be used.

To enable Studios
  1. Select the Settings icon in the top-right of CloudVision and browse the list of features for Studios (Beta). Switch the toggle to the ON position.
    Figure 1. Enabling Studios
  2. Once you have enabled Studios, click on the Provisioning tab.
    Figure 2. Provisioning Tab
  3. Select Studios on the sidebar.
    Figure 3. Selecting Studios from the sidebar

The Studios home screen is displayed.This is where you will initiate all your configurations.You can view your Workspaces and see their statuses by selecting on Workspaces under Studios.

Per-Studio Role Based Access Control

Per-Studio Role Based Access Control (RBAC) provides CloudVision users with granular control over access permissions for individual studios. A relevant user can grant differing permissions to other users for both management and input configuration of individual studios. Management includes the studio creation and deletion, its template, and its schema; input configuration includes the assignment of tags and the configuration of a studio’s inputs.

A user’s permissions are controlled and assigned through the use of roles in Access Control. Each role is configured with separate No Access, Read Only, or Read and Write access for the Management and Input Configuration permissions of a studio.

By default there are no per-studio permissions for CloudVision built-in roles.

Role Permissions

On a per-studio basis, the permissions have the following effect:

Table 1. Role Permissions
Permission Management Input Configuration
No Access The user will not be able to access the studio’s schema and template or be able to delete the studio The user will not be able to see the studio in Studios
Read Only The user will only be able view a studios schema and template, and will not be able to delete the studio A user can only view the input configuration and device assignment of the studio
Read and Write The user can edit the schema and template of a studio and can delete the studio A user can configure the device assignment and inputs of the studio

Users may encounter on-screen errors when configuring roles if the permissions set for Management and Input Configuration do not result in a valid combination. A summary of the valid combinations is available here:

Table 2. Valid Role Based Combinations
Management Input Configuration
No Access No Access
Read Only
  • No Access
  • Read Only
  • Read and Write
Read and Write Read and Write

Related Topics:

Enabling and Accessing Per-Studio Permissions

The Studio Role Based Access Control must be enabled before it can be accessed.

Enabling Per-Studio Permissions

Per-Studio Role Based Access Control must be enabled in the Features section of General Settings.

  1. Select the Setting icon to open the General Settings page.
  2. Select the toggle for Studios Enhanced RBAC (Beta).
Figure 4. General Settings
Figure 5. Studios Role Based Access Control (RBAC) Toggle

Accessing Per-Studio Permissions

Once Studios Role Based Access Control (RBAC) is enabled, any existing roles can be edited with per-studio permissions or new roles can be created with those permissions and assigned to users.

The permissions can be accessed through Roles in Access Control when editing or creating a role. Scroll down to Studios, which can be expanded to show the Per-Studio Permissions.

Figure 6. General Settings - Access Control - Roles
Figure 7. Roles Screen

Each studio available in Studios can be added and permissions assigned to the role for that studio. Any studio that is not added to the list will have the global permissions defined above.

Configuring Permissions for Studios Role Based Access Control

Create a new role or edit an existing role, which will bring up the permissions modal. Scroll down to Studios and expand it. You will then begin the process by configuring the default (global) permissions.After the default permissions are set, you will configure the per-studio permissions.

  1. Select a role from the list or select Add Role.
    Figure 8. Roles List
  2. From Module Access menu, open Studios.
    Figure 9. Module Access Menu
  3. Configure the default settings for Studios, which apply to all studios.
    Note: The default permissions will be overridden by any per-studio permissions you assign for a selected studio.
    Figure 10. Studios Default Permissions
  4. Open the Per-Studio Permissions section of the menu.
    Figure 11. Per-Studio Permissions
  5. Select a Studio from the list or select Add Studio,
  6. Set the Management and Input Configuration for the Studio.
    Note: The permissions are set by default to the default permissions for Studios. Changing the permissions will override the default permissions for the selected Studio.
  7. You can add more Studios and configure the per-studio permissions for each. When you are finished select Save.

Updating Workspace Permissions

The permissions for Workspaces are impacted by any per-studio permissions.

A user with Read and Write permissions for any studios will not be able to create or manage workspaces if they do not have Read and Write permissions for Workspace Management. This means another user with the relevant permissions will need to create and build workspaces. Similarly, a user must have Read and Write access to Workspace Submission in order to submit a workspace. If a user has Read and Write access for a studio, they will be unable to submit any workspaces they use to configure the studio.

An error will be displayed when the user’s per-studio permissions conflict with their Workspace Submission permission.