Manage Edges
To manage the existing Edges:
Configure Edge Settings
To override configuration settings for a specific Edge, perform the following steps:
Reset Edges to Factory Settings
Edges may require a reset to factory settings for several reasons:
- When a user repurposes an Edge for a different site, the user must remove the existing configuration to activate the Edge at the new site.
- User's site is experiencing an issue, and VeloCloud SD-WAN Support recommends performing a hard reset to revert the Edge to factory settings and reactivate it at the site to see if that resolves the issue.
- The Edge is inaccessible or unresponsive, and multiple power cycles have not resolved the issue. The VeloCloud SD-WAN Support recommends performing a hard reset to restore the Edge to its factory settings and see if that resolves the issue.
Reset an Edge to factory settings using one of the following methods:
- Soft Reset or Deactivation - When the user performs this action, the system deactivates the Edge and removes all existing configurations. The Edge now uses the original factory configuration. However, the Edge software is not affected and retains the version it had before the soft reset. A soft reset Edge can be reactivated at another site or at the same site.
- Hard Reset - When the user performs this action, the Edge fully resets to its factory settings. This action not only deactivates the device and restores its factory configuration, but it also reverts the Edge software to its original factory version. After this process, the Edge is in the same state as when it was shipped from the factory.
If a user resets an active Edge at a site, the user completely loses client device connectivity at that site until the user either reactivates the same Edge or activates another Edge.
For instructions on how to reset an Edge to factory settings, see How to Factory Reset a VeloCloud SD-WAN Edge.

