Rolling Back Images and Configurations

CloudVision Network Rollbacks feature enables you to restore a previous EOS image and configuration to containers and devices. You can apply the rollback to all the devices in a container, or to single devices. When you rollback a container or device, you select the date and time for the rollback and whether you want to rollback the EOS image or configuration (or both).

CloudVision supports rollback to any previous point in time irrespective of captured snapshots. However, rollback is possible to a point that is far beyond the CloudVision Cluster update to 2018.2.0 only when your devices are upgraded to TerminAttr 1.4+ long before that.

Note: To help you select the desired rollback destination day and time, you can compare the image and running configuration differences between current and rollback times of all effected devices. The potential destination rollback date and time in the comparison is based on the destination rollback date and time you select.

Rolling Back Container Images and Configurations

Complete the following steps to apply a network rollback in containers:

  1. Go to the Network Provisioning screen.
  2. Right-click on the container you want to rollback, and then choose Manage > Network Rollback.
    Figure 1: Network Rollback Screen


  3. Using the Rollback Type: options near the top of the screen, select the type of rollback. The options are:
    • Configuration & Image Rollback (both the configuration and EOS image are rolled back)

    • Configuration Rollback (only the configuration is rolled back)

    • Image Rollback (only the EOS image is rolled back)

  4. Either drag the vertical slider on the timeline to the desired date and select the time for rollback; or use the Rollback to menu for selecting rollback date and time (directly above the configuration pane on the left side).
  5. Click the telemetry icon (directly above the configuration pane on the right side) for viewing the running configuration differences between current and rollback times.
  6. If required, change the destination date and time for the rollback.
  7. Click Create CC to create a Change Control (CC) record for the network rollback. CloudVision automatically creates a rollback task for each device in the rollback; and makes them part of CC.
    Note: Rollback Change Controls are automatically assigned a unique name. You can rename the Change Control record by editing the Change Control record. Once the Change Control is created, it can be executed like any other Change Control.

Rolling Back Device Images and Configurations

Complete the following steps to apply a rollback in devices:
  1. Go to the Network Provisioning screen.
  2. Right-click on the device you want to rollback, and then choose Manage > Rollback.
    Figure 2: Device Rollback Screen


  3. Using the Rollback Type: options near the top of the screen, select the type of rollback. The options are:
    • Configuration & Image Rollback (both the configuration and EOS image are rolled back)

    • Configuration Rollback (only the configuration is rolled back)

    • Image Rollback (only the EOS image is rolled back)

  4. Either drag the vertical slider on the timeline to the desired date and select the time for rollback; or use the Rollback to menu for selecting rollback date and time (directly above the configuration pane on the left side).
  5. Click the telemetry icon (directly above the configuration pane on the right side) for viewing the running configuration differences between current and rollback times.
    Figure 3: Differences in Running Configuration


    The Unified tab displays running configuration differences in a single window with differences highlighted. The Split tab displays running configurations in different windows with differences highlighted.

  6. If required, change the destination date and time for the rollback.
  7. Click Save to create a task for the device rollback.

Rolling Back Configurations Assigned to a Device

CloudVision's Network Rollbacks feature enables you to restore a previous configuration to devices. You can apply the rollback to all the devices in a container, or to single devices. When you rollback a container or device, you select the date and time for the rollback and whether you want to rollback the configuration or EOS image (or both).

See Rolling Back Images and Configurations for details.